• IRIS Consultant Biography

Back to search results

  Consultant Name Beth Mortl
  Company Name TMG
  Phone Number 844-864-8987
  E-Mail IRISinfo@tmgwisconsin.com

Work History (starting with most recent)

Name of Agency Date of Employment Job Title
TMG 10/8/18 IRIS Consultant

Care Responsibilities

Your TMG IRIS consultant is your partner as you create a plan that meets your needs and stays within your IRIS budget. Your TMG IRIS consultant can connect you to resources in your area, and will be a great source of information for any questions you have about the IRIS program. In a self-directed program like IRIS, you decide who provides your support and services and when they happen. You may have natural support from people in your life, or you may choose to purchase the support you need from an agency or someone that you hire directly. Your TMG IRIS consultant will be there to talk through these decisions with you, and will help you put a plan in place that reflects your choices.

Educational Background

Name of Institution Major/Degree Degree Obtained Date Obtained
Alverno College Behavioral Sciences - Bachelor Yes 5/1994

Credentials

Name of Certification / Accreditation Certifying Agency Date Certification was Obtained

Specialties (e.g., working with autism, the elderly, employment for people with disabilities or youth in transition, mental health, experience with assisted technology)

Prior to joining TMG, I worked in the employment field, where I provided onsite vocational training, functional skill development and job coaching to program interns enrolled in Project SEARCH and/or other competitive jobs. It was my job to ensure that the young adults I worked with were treated with the respect, dignity that allows for individual success. I also helped students in grades 1 - 8 be successful in class by creating an atmosphere that facilitates intellectual, physical, emotional and psychological success as a paraprofessional with Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA1). I also have experience from parenting an adult son with autism and mitochondrial disease.

County/Region I'm familiar with

Milwaukee

Languages or Communication Skills

English

I'm comfortable with pets in the home

Yes

More about me

How do you Partner with people to 'clear the path ahead'?
In order to clear the path ahead for a participant in the IRIS program, I want to listen to your needs and desires. What is working in your life and what would you like to work on or improve? I will work with you to provide you with resources that I have, and will continue to look for more to fill your needs. I will be available to meet with you and make changes to your plan as needed. You will be respected for who you are and for what is important to YOU!

What's your favorite thing about being an IRIS consultant?
My favorite part of being a TMG IRIS Consultant is bringing my experiences with resources and problem solving to you. As a parent of a young adult with autism and mitochondrial disease, I have had to navigate many needs and find resources to assist my son and our family. I have always been involved in many community groups and school programs, where I have learned about available resources. In addition, I have extensive experience in finding and keeping employment for persons with disabilities. It is an exciting new time in Wisconsin, and work first is important to people of all abilities. I want to help the people I partner with find a meaningful life.

What past experience prepared you to become an IRIS Consultant?
I received great experience working with ProjectSEARCH at the Children's Hospital of Wisconsin. While there, I worked with adults with various needs on job coaching and then job development in the community after ProjectSEARCH's nine-month program was complete. There are many different needs and wants for every person. Being able to recognize the needs and provide workable strategies to the person and the employer is a learned skill that I enjoy doing.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
In my free time I like to read, hike, spend time with good friends and cook. On my vacation time, I like to travel with my son to places where I can learn about cultures and history.

WI DHS/DLTC/F-01486 (04/2015)