• IRIS Consultant Biography

Back to search results

  Consultant Name Brenda Niles
  Company Name TMG
  Phone Number 920-287-9162
  E-Mail BNiles@tmgwisconsin.com

Work History (starting with most recent)

Name of Agency Date of Employment Job Title
TMG 8/11/1 IRIS Consultant

Care Responsibilities

Your TMG IRIS consultant is your partner as you create a plan that meets your needs and stays within your IRIS budget. Your TMG IRIS consultant can connect you to resources in your area, and will be a great source of information for any questions you have

Educational Background

Name of Institution Major/Degree Degree Obtained Date Obtained
Moraine Park Technical College Certificates for Childhood 1&2, and Infant Toddler, 2015 Renewed - ProCPR Training Yes 7/1/89

Credentials

Name of Certification / Accreditation Certifying Agency Date Certification was Obtained
Woman of Outstanding Leadership The International Women's Leadership Association 9/1/12
Registry of Executives, Professional, Entrepreneurs The International Women's Leadership Association 2/1/12
Foster Parent Training License Fond Du Lac County 1/1/98

Specialties (e.g., working with autism, the elderly, employment for people with disabilities or youth in transition, mental health, experience with assisted technology)

Prior to working at TMG, I worked as a Certified Nursing Assistant, Childcare Provider, Licensed Foster Parent, Direct Support Provider, Adult Family Home Manager, and Group Home Manager. I have professional and personal experience working with individuals with cognitive and physical challenges as well as older adults. Iím also familiar with many types of adaptive equipment.

County/Region I'm familiar with

Fond du Lac

Languages or Communication Skills

English

I'm comfortable with pets in the home

Yes

More about me

How do you Partner with people to 'clear the path ahead'?
I was raised with a can do attitude. I believe if a person is given the chance, they can look to the future with anticipation and not fear. Experiencing life to the fullest one can should be the aim. Not just existing day to day. Working together to help the individuals I partner with see the possibilities and follow their dreams to the best of their abilities.

What's your favorite thing about being an IRIS consultant?
I would say the most enjoyable part of my job is talking to and helping people. I feel confident in assisting with finding resources, problem solving, assisting people to think outside of the box to let their creative thoughts flow, and living the lives they see for themselves, instead of being told how to live. Problems as most people see them are just challenges to solve.

What past experience prepared you to become an IRIS Consultant?
I was a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) for several years, trained as a Childcare Provider, and ran a Licensed Home Childcare business for ten years, of which four of those years I was also a Licensed Foster Parent. Afterward I was a Direct Support Provider in a corporate Group Home for 7.5 years, then for 3 years managed another Group Home, both of which were with individuals with profound cognitive and physical challenges. From there I opened and operated an Adult Family Home for four years before coming to TMG. I also companioned with along with individuals with cognitive challenges on Special Needs Travel Tours for 4 years, usually for a group of four or five at a time. I am familiar with many types of adaptive equipment, access to resources for In-Home Care Agencies, durable medical equipment and supplies, and natural or homeopathic supplies and services. I am also familiar with commercial and residential construction industry and it's relation to home adaptabilities.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
I spend free time playing with and caring for my 4 grandchildren, ages 19 months, 7 years, 10 years and 12 years old. I enjoy reading, swimming, camping, minor gardening, crafts with the grandchildren, spending time with family and friends, attending bible study and church, eating at restaurants and going to the movies when I can, and being a teacher or Life Coach to others with shared experiences that helps them enhance their lives. I also love to travel and would like to see more of what's out there. I have helped remodel houses, organize events, and even once had the opportunity to drive a locomotive train.

WI DHS/DLTC/F-01486 (04/2015)