• IRIS Consultant Biography

Back to search results

  Consultant Name Cynthia Coleman
  Company Name TMG
  Phone Number 608-630-1957
  E-Mail CColeman@tmgwisconsin.com

Work History (starting with most recent)

Name of Agency Date of Employment Job Title
TMG 7/29/2013 IRIS Consultant

Care Responsibilities

Your TMG IRIS consultant is your partner as you create a plan that meets your needs and stays within your IRIS budget. Your TMG IRIS consultant can connect you to resources in your area, and will be a great source of information for any questions you have

Educational Background

Name of Institution Major/Degree Degree Obtained Date Obtained
Milwaukee Area Technical College Bachelor's Degree - Dietetics Yes 6/1/1983

Credentials

Name of Certification / Accreditation Certifying Agency Date Certification was Obtained

Specialties (e.g., working with autism, the elderly, employment for people with disabilities or youth in transition, mental health, experience with assisted technology)

Prior to coming to TMG, I worked for the Milwaukee Health Department, a long-term and acute health care setting of various facilities and the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development. Therefore, I have experience with individuals with physical and behavioral health concerns.

County/Region I'm familiar with

Milwaukee

Languages or Communication Skills

English

I'm comfortable with pets in the home

Yes

More about me

How do you Partner with people to 'clear the path ahead'?
​Partnering with people to clear the path ahead to me means respecting who you are as an individual, not comparing. It also involves assisting you to set personal goals and moving at a pace that is comfortable for you. I plan to meet with you at a time that is convenient with your supportive circle and design with your input a plan to reach your personal goals.

What's your favorite thing about being an IRIS consultant?
I enjoy most meeting with the individuals I partner with, giving them support, and helping them set and reach goals to sustain independence. I also enjoy learning from those I partner with. I feel everyone has a unique experience that I can benefit from to become better in work and life.​

What past experience prepared you to become an IRIS Consultant?
​The journey in becoming an IC has been exciting. Having worked in a community acute and long term setting, I have seen how individuals can either thrive or just merely survive depending on the support and resources they are given. Having my life change suddenly as a two-time stroke survivor and having a disability has given me a unique perspective to how your world can change and how you can still set goals and create a life for yourself within your limitations if given the proper support. I share in the care for my 82-year-old widowed dad. This gives me the opportunity to stay informed as to the health care needs of older adults.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
​I enjoy working out, sewing, volunteering for my congregation, and baking and cooking southern dishes for my 82-year-old dad.

WI DHS/DLTC/F-01486 (04/2015)