• IRIS Consultant Biography

Back to search results

  Consultant Name Deborah Schutte
  Company Name TMG
  Phone Number 715-644-8528
  E-Mail DSchutte@tmgwisconsin.com

Work History (starting with most recent)

Name of Agency Date of Employment Job Title
TMG 2/9/2011 IRIS Consultant

Care Responsibilities

Your TMG IRIS consultant is your partner as you create a plan that meets your needs and stays within your IRIS budget. Your TMG IRIS consultant can connect you to resources in your area, and will be a great source of information for any questions you have

Educational Background

Name of Institution Major/Degree Degree Obtained Date Obtained
Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College Associate Degree - Accounting Yes 6/1/1994

Credentials

Name of Certification / Accreditation Certifying Agency Date Certification was Obtained
Lay Ministry St. John's University 5/1/2002
Certified Nursing Assistant Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services 7/1/2009

Specialties (e.g., working with autism, the elderly, employment for people with disabilities or youth in transition, mental health, experience with assisted technology)

Prior to coming to TMG, I worked in a Home Care agency and owned a business providing personal and supportive home care for older adults and persons with disabilities. I have extensive experience in caregiving, employment, dementia, and autism.

County/Region I'm familiar with

Ashland, Bayfield, Iron, Price

Languages or Communication Skills

English

I'm comfortable with pets in the home

Yes

More about me

How do you Partner with people to 'clear the path ahead'?
I begin by listening to the person’s hopes and dreams, then travel by their side as we brainstorm ways to remove or go around the obstacles that are getting in the way of where he/she wants to go. I share resources and the knowledge, I have gained in navigating the path, with others. I offer support when needed, but encourage the individual participating in the IRIS Program to be as independent as they can be on their journey.

What's your favorite thing about being an IRIS consultant?
My favorite thing about being an IRIS Consultant is meeting and learning from the people in the program and those who support them. I continue to be in awe of the creativity of people in overcoming obstacles to have the best possible life and I feel blessed to be invited along on their journey. ​

What past experience prepared you to become an IRIS Consultant?
I am the eldest of nine children in my family and at the age of 11 began as a caregiver for my younger brothers and sisters while my parents worked long hours on our dairy farm. I worked for several years as an Accountant and Manager in an insurance company and have a good understanding of finances and budgeting. In my work as a personal and Supportive Home Care worker I gained an understanding of some of the challenges faced by people with unique physical and mental attributes and the aging population. As an aunt to a young man with severe cognitive challenges I have learned how each person can contribute to society in his or her own unique way as long as the person has the right supports.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
​I love walking or snowshoeing through our wood lot, reading mystery novels, getting together with family and friends, going on retreats, and serving my Church in a variety of ways.

WI DHS/DLTC/F-01486 (04/2015)