• IRIS Consultant Biography

Back to search results

  Consultant Name Jerianne Kvapil
  Company Name TMG
  Phone Number (715) 944-4070
  E-Mail JKKvapil@tmgwisconsin.com

Work History (starting with most recent)

Name of Agency Date of Employment Job Title
TMG 7/24/2017 IRIS Consultant

Care Responsibilities

Your TMG IRIS consultant is your partner as you create a plan that meets your needs and stays within your IRIS budget. Your TMG IRIS consultant can connect you to resources in your area, and will be a great source of information for any questions you have about the IRIS program. In a self-directed program like IRIS, you decide who provides your support and services and when they happen. You may have natural support from people in your life, or you may choose to purchase the support you need from an agency or someone that you hire directly. Your TMG IRIS consultant will be there to talk through these decisions with you, and will help you put a plan in place that reflects your choices.

Educational Background

Name of Institution Major/Degree Degree Obtained Date Obtained
UW-Whitewater Bachelor of Education ā€“ Special Education Yes 12/1/1982
UW-Eau Claire Master of Education ā€“ Special Education Yes 8/1/1993

Credentials

Name of Certification / Accreditation Certifying Agency Date Certification was Obtained
Certified Director of Special Education Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction 5/1/2008
Emotional Disabilities Teaching Certificate Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction 5/1/1996
Learning Disabilities Teaching Certificate Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction 5/1/1986
Early Childhood EEN Teaching Certificate Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction 12/1/1982

Specialties (e.g., working with autism, the elderly, employment for people with disabilities or youth in transition, mental health, experience with assisted technology)

My work as a special education teacher and special education director makes me a good fit for supporting individuals with various disabilities. I have specialized in supporting individuals with autism and mental health concerns. I also know basic sign language, and have supported deaf and hard of hearing individuals. I have knowledge of supports needed for individuals who are blind or have impaired vision. I also have extensive experience with assistive technology, youth in transition, and supports for integrated employment for people with disabilities. I also have experience as a community support specialist, and through this position, I have gained experience working with individuals with physical disabilities and assisting them with adaptive equipment. I come from a multicultural family and have experience supporting tribal youth and families.

County/Region I'm familiar with

Ashland, Bayfield, Iron, Sawyer

Languages or Communication Skills

English

I'm comfortable with pets in the home

Yes

More about me

How do you Partner with people to 'clear the path ahead'?
During our partnership, I see myself as walking side by side with you, learning about your story and your goals. Together, we will develop an action plan to find services and resources you feel comfortable with that will help you achieve your goals. I will team with you to problem solve, and find ways to stretch your IRIS budget so you can get the most care and supports needed.

What's your favorite thing about being an IRIS consultant?
I believe everyone has the right to decide their own destiny. I love working together as a team to achieve your goals. I believe that all people should have the freedom to belong, contribute and share spaces within the community. I believe that all people have the right to have choice and control over their lives. Together, we can make that happen.

What past experience prepared you to become an IRIS Consultant?
My time working in the special education field has given me a vast knowledge and experience working with individuals with many different kinds of disabilities. I have also cared for my elderly parents and have helped them to find supports to stay in their home and then later helped them find an assisted living community when they felt they were ready for that step. My experiences in community support and supporting my parents helped me to develop better partnering skills.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
When Iā€™m not working, you can find me outdoors! I love canoeing, hiking, biking, fishing, gardening and gathering foods. I also love to read and going to see movies. I enjoy meeting new people and learning about different cultures. I love exploring new places, especially in our North Woods.

WI DHS/DLTC/F-01486 (04/2015)