IRIS Consultant Biography

Back to search results

  Consultant Name Debra Hanson
  Company Name TMG
  Phone Number 844-864-8987

Work History (starting with most recent)

Name of Agency Date of Employment Job Title
TMG 3/5/2018 IRIS Consultant

Care Responsibilities

Your TMG IRIS consultant is your partner as you create a plan that meets your needs and stays within your IRIS budget. Your TMG IRIS consultant can connect you to resources in your area, and will be a great source of information for any questions you have about the IRIS program. In a self-directed program like IRIS, you decide who provides your support and services and when they happen. You may have natural support from people in your life, or you may choose to purchase the support you need from an agency or someone that you hire directly. Your TMG IRIS consultant will be there to talk through these decisions with you, and will help you put a plan in place that reflects your choices.

Educational Background

Name of Institution Major/Degree Degree Obtained Date Obtained
Gateway Technical College Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Yes 9/1/2014
Winona State University Social Work Yes 5/1/2012
Western Technical College General Studies No
Winona Technical College Merchandising


Name of Certification / Accreditation Certifying Agency Date Certification was Obtained
Certified Social Worker Wisconsin Department of Safety & Professional Services 5/1/2012

Specialties (e.g., working with autism, the elderly, employment for people with disabilities or youth in transition, mental health, experience with assisted technology)

Prior to joining TMG, I worked with people who are aging as well as people with physical and mental disabilities. I was a program manager, where I was responsible for the health, wellbeing and safety of each client. I had to assure that program was run according to state/county guidelines. This position required that I had some direct care duties which gave me access to their everyday struggles. I also have a degree in Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse program from Gateway Technical College. There, I gained experience working with individuals that struggle with substance abuse.

County/Region I'm familiar with

La Crosse, Trempealeau

Languages or Communication Skills


I'm comfortable with pets in the home


More about me

How do you Partner with people to 'clear the path ahead'?
The way I partner with people is by getting to know them and their needs, which will help me gain their trust and build a good working relationship. This will also help me direct them to available services that best fit their individual needs. I would support the decisions they make, be available for them when problems arise, and follow up in a timely manner. I would welcome suggestions to make sure they are satisfied with the services they are receiving, and if those services are not working for them, be able to make adjustments when needed.

What's your favorite thing about being an IRIS consultant?
My favorite part about being a TMG IRIS Consultant is helping people live self-determined lives. I think that giving the people I partner with control over their services is very important. I strongly believe in helping them live as independently as possible, and IRIS supports this belief.

What past experience prepared you to become an IRIS Consultant?
I have always worked in a managing position. I worked independently and have experience with scheduling my time to meet deadlines. In these roles I have had to be a leader and a problem solver. From my role as a manager in sales to managing a program at CCLS, I was successful in communicating with diverse populations. This experience has prepared me to be a highly-organized IRIS Consultant who knows how to work with a wide range of people.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
I have many interests I engage in during my free time. My husband passed away in 2017, which has given me a whole new life to start living. He was a Vietnam Veteran, and I became interested in and wanted to provide support to those who have their own struggles. I also have an 8-year-old pit bull who I enjoy spending time with. I have become an advocate for the breed. My dog and I took some classes through the Humane Society, and he became a certified therapy dog. We are planning to do some volunteer work at the VA in the future. I am also trying to re-establish friendships, since I am now alone and trying to pick up my life.

WI DHS/DLTC/F-01486 (04/2015)