IRIS Consultant Biography

Back to search results

  Consultant Name John Fitzgerald
  Company Name TMG
  Phone Number 844-864-8987

Work History (starting with most recent)

Name of Agency Date of Employment Job Title
TMG 5/11/2011 IRIS Consultant

Care Responsibilities

Your TMG IRIS consultant is your partner as you create a plan that meets your needs and stays within your IRIS budget. Your TMG IRIS consultant can connect you to resources in your area, and will be a great source of information for any questions you have

Educational Background

Name of Institution Major/Degree Degree Obtained Date Obtained
University of Michigan Bachelor's Degree - Anthropology Yes 6/1/1978
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee Certification - Secondary Education Teaching No 6/1/1998


Name of Certification / Accreditation Certifying Agency Date Certification was Obtained

Specialties (e.g., working with autism, the elderly, employment for people with disabilities or youth in transition, mental health, experience with assisted technology)

Prior to working at TMG, I worked with people of all ages as an aide, counselor, supervisor and teacher in various settings, including group homes, residential treatment facilities, psychiatric hospitals and supported employment. I also worked as a community educator/organizer in Milwaukee for ten years.

County/Region I'm familiar with

Milwaukee, Racine

Languages or Communication Skills


I'm comfortable with pets in the home


More about me

How do you Partner with people to 'clear the path ahead'?
I try to listen to the people I meet in the IRIS program to learn what they value and want. I try to keep up with the program and share the information I have with participants so they can make informed choices.

What's your favorite thing about being an IRIS consultant?
I enjoy getting to know people through our visits. I have partnered with some people in IRIS for years now and I value the relationships we share.

What past experience prepared you to become an IRIS Consultant?
At least as valuable as my professional experience are my personal experiences as a son, brother, husband, father, grand-father, and friend. It really works both ways. My life outside of IRIS helps prepare me for my work as an IRIS Consultant and my work as an IRIS Consultant makes me better prepared for life at large.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
I like to walk and read. For exercise and fun, I play ice hockey. My dog and cat insist on a certain amount of attention. I watch the Packers and the Brewers. I like all sports really. When I get a chance I visit Lake Superior and family and friends. I enjoy house projects but don't ask me to help with drywall or roofing, those years are behind me.

WI DHS/DLTC/F-01486 (04/2015)