IRIS Consultant Biography

Back to search results

  Consultant Name Shannon Bass
  Company Name TMG
  Phone Number 844-864-8987

Work History (starting with most recent)

Name of Agency Date of Employment Job Title
TMG 1/11/2016 IRIS Consultant

Care Responsibilities

Your TMG IRIS consultant is your partner as you create a plan that meets your needs and stays within your IRIS budget. Your TMG IRIS consultant can connect you to resources in your area, and will be a great source of information for any questions you have

Educational Background

Name of Institution Major/Degree Degree Obtained Date Obtained
University of Wisconsin - Fox Valley Associate of Arts & Sciences - Ethnic Studies Yes 12/1/2012
Concordia University Bachelor of Science - Human Resource Management Yes 12/1/2014


Name of Certification / Accreditation Certifying Agency Date Certification was Obtained

Specialties (e.g., working with autism, the elderly, employment for people with disabilities or youth in transition, mental health, experience with assisted technology)

Prior to working for TMG, I worked for the state in the Long-Term Care Department; therefore, I have extensive knowledge working with those living with disabilities.

County/Region I'm familiar with


Languages or Communication Skills


I'm comfortable with pets in the home


More about me

How do you Partner with people to 'clear the path ahead'?
I partner with people to "clear the path ahead" by first taking my time to learn the person I am partnering with. I take time to learn their goals and what it is that they are mostly concerned about. I then find out about supports available in their community and within their circle and try to use those to help the person meet their goals and plans. I will also emphasize what it is that the individual participating in the IRIS Program is able to do versus not being able to do. I think we tend to focus more on what people are not able to do and we lose sight on what it is they are able to do. I think this takes away from their independence which can negatively affect their self-esteem and understanding of what is they are "still" able to do. People don't need to feel incapable in life.

What's your favorite thing about being an IRIS consultant?
My favorite thing with being an IRIS Consultant is that I am able to now put faces with the IRIS and Medicaid applications/renewals I use to process on a daily basis. I am able to be there ôhands onö to make sure that the people participating in the IRIS Program are getting what they deserve out of the program. Furthermore, I love helping people with their life in any way that I can and being an IRIS Consultant gives me ample opportunity to do so - whether if it is something as small as finding a phone number to something as major as finding a better doctor to treat certain medical condition(s) an individual might be dealing with.

What past experience prepared you to become an IRIS Consultant?
Past experiences that helped me become an IRIS Consultant were hearing and understanding how important these services are to people participating in the IRIS Program. Although the majority, if not all of my time prior to TMG, was with processing renewals and applications for Long-Term Care programs, from time to time I would have to interact with individuals participating in the IRIS Program, Guardians, Power of Attorney's, family members, and advocates; in person or over the phone. I got to see first-hand how much of a burden was lifted off of their shoulders when they learned how to become eligible and how to remain eligible for the programs. It might not seem like much to someone that never worked with these programs but with the various medical conditions and life situations people might be dealing with, they should not have to worry about losing or not being eligible for services. Witnessing the length of time and processes involved with obtaining IRIS services put me in a good position to be an IRIS Consultant. I understand how important the services are tithe people use them.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
In my free time, I like to spend time with my 10 year old daughter and my family. Sitting at home, cooking good meals, having great conversation, and watching movies are things that I would do before I choose to do things outside of the home. We spend so much time at work, school, appointments, meetings, and so on that lounging around in sweat suits and house shoes from time to time is very much appreciated. Other than that I like to find nice restaurants around the city that I've never been to before.

WI DHS/DLTC/F-01486 (04/2015)